Spirit of the Plains - Australian Flute Music 1997-2013

Spirit of the Plains - Australian Flute Music 1997-2013


Regular price $20.00 Sale

Christine Draeger and Lamorna Nightingale flute and Jocelyn Fazzone piano

Spirit of the Plains is a beautiful collection of music for flute which reflects the rich diversity of Australian music. 21 pieces have been selected for use in exams and recitals or just enjoyed for the beauty of the music. Some of the repertoire is suitable for use in the New South Wales HSC for the mandatory topic Australian Music of the last 25 years.


Colin Brumby Menteith (1997) (6th grade AMEB)                                
Nigel Butterley Richard's Prelude (2012)                                               
Christine Draeger Lament for passenger pigeons (2005) (7th grade AMEB)               
Christine Draeger Aubade (2011)                                                        
Ross Edwards Yanada from Mystic Spring (2006) (7th grade AMEB)                                                             
Ross Edwards Johannes’ Dance Song from Mystic Spring (2006) (7th grade AMEB)                      
Andy Firth Cooper’s Capers (2006)                                                      
Sarah Hopkins Journey to the East (2006) (5th grade AMEB)                                        
Elena Kats-Chernin A Nostalgic Piece (2010)                                     
Johanna Selleck Crossing Points iv (2012)                                         
James Humberstone Three for Two Flutes: mannasaettir ii (2013) 
Anne Boyd A Little Feather on the Breath of God (2002/2013)        
Robert Constable Autumn Song (2005)                                              
Ross Edwards Mystic Spring from Mystic Spring (2006) (8th grade AMEB)
Ross Edwards Ngala from Mystic Spring (2006) (8th grade AMEB)                                                                 
Ross Edwards Nura - Ocean Idyll (2004) (A.Mus AMEB)                                          
Matthew Hindson Repetepetition (2008)                                            
Rosalind Page Sonetos (2004/2013)                                        
Michael Rosiak Dancing with Butterflies (2009)                                 
Lachlan Skipworth Mujō (2011)                                                           
Sally Whitwell Spirit of the Plains (2013)*  

For more details about composers and how to access sheet music please visit the Australian Music Centre

Available for digital download via CDbaby

Listen to extracts of pieces.