Spirit of the Plains - Australian Flute Music 1997-2013

Spirit of the Plains - Australian Flute Music 1997-2013


Regular price $20.00 Sale

Christine Draeger & Lamorna Nightingale flute, Jocelyn Fazzone piano

‘Spirit of the Plains’ is a beautiful collection of music for flute which reflects the rich diversity of Australian music. Twenty-one pieces have been selected for use in exams and recitals or just enjoyed for the beauty of the music. All the repertoire is suitable for use in the NSW HSC for the mandatory topic Australian Music - last 25 years.

Menteith (1997) Colin Brumby (6th grade AMEB)                                
Richard's Prelude (2012) Nigel Butterley                                              
Lament for passenger pigeons (2005) Christine Draeger  (7th grade AMEB)               
Aubade (2011) Christine Draeger                                                          
Yanada from Mystic Spring  (2006) Ross Edwards   (7th grade AMEB)                                                             
Johannes’ Dance Song from Mystic Spring  (2006) Ross Edwards  (7th grade AMEB)                      
Cooper’s Capers (2006) Andy  Firth                                                      
Journey to the East (2006) Sarah Hopkins  (5th grade AMEB)                                        
A Nostalgic Piece (2010) Elena Kats-Chernin                                      
Crossing Points iv (2012) Johanna Selleck                                        
Three for Two Flutes: mannasaettir ii (2013) James Humberstone
A Little Feather on the Breath of God (2002/2013) Anne Boyd        
Autumn Song (2005) Robert Constable                                              
Mystic Spring from Mystic Spring  (2006) Ross Edwards  (8th grade AMEB)
Ngala from Mystic Spring  (2006) Ross Edwards (8th grade AMEB)                                                                 
Nura - Ocean Idyll (2004) Ross Edwards   (A.Mus AMEB)                                          
Repetepetition (2008) Matthew Hindson                                            
Sonetos (2004/2013) Rosalind Page                                        
Dancing with Butterflies (2009) Michael Rosiak                                
Mujō  (2011) Lachlan Skipworth                                                          
*Spirit of the Plains (2013) Sally Whitwell   

For more details about composers and how to access sheet music please visit the Australian Music Centre

Available for digital download via CDbaby

Listen to extracts of pieces. Click on the forward arrow to go to the next track.